What Do School Nurses Do?

  • School nurses function as part of the school's multidisciplinary team to facilitate the connection between physical health, wellness, and learning.  Working with other health professionals and ancillary personnel, the school nurse provides services for students that promotes optimum health for academic success.  The school nurse provides the necessary professional expertise to identify, assess, plan, implement, and evaluate the health needs of the school community.  Program emphasis is directed toward prevention of disease and promotion of health utilizing health services, health counseling, and health education.  School nurses also ensure compliance with vaccination requirements and also assist school teams in understanding the impact of concussions in youth.

    SMCISD allows for nurses in each school, which, by helping students to maintain physical health, helps foster their educational achievement.

    • Serves as a health advocate for your child
    • Serves as a link to medical resources
    • Assesses illnesses and injuries
    • Delivers first-aid treatment
    • Communicates with parents
    • Communicates with staff
    • Monitors immunizations for compliance to Maryland law
    • Administers medications
    • Performs health screenings and follow-up per Maryland law
    • Participates on school teams
    • Monitors communicable infections

Roles and Responsibilities

  • School nursing is a professional registered nursing specialty that involves identification, assessment, prevention, and intervention to remedy or modify students' health needs. The nurses' goal is to promote the optimum health of students and the students' abilities to achieve their individual educational goals.

    Nurses monitor required immunizations, perform mandated health screenings, track communicable diseases, plan for emergencies and provide direct care to students. Please use the links to the left to learn more about the SMCISD District Health Services.

    We would like to assure you that medical information about your child is treated as confidential by the nurses and all school staff. We do not share information about your child with outside parties nor can we discuss health concerns of any other student with you.

Contact Us

Name Title email Phone
Lisa Franke Director of Special Education lisa.franke@smcisd.net 512-393-6914
Doug Wozniak Director of Transportation & Safety Doug.wozniak@smcisd.net 512-757-8486
Jennifer Vogel School Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) Jennifer.vogel@smcisd.net 512-393-6321
Jaime Perez Safety & Health Specialist jaime.perez@smcisd.net 512-757-8486

Campus Nurse Directory

Campus Responsible Party Phone Email
Bonham Teresa Rivers 512-757-8232 teresa.rivers@smcisd.net
Bowie Heather McWhorter LVN 512-393-6204 Heather.mcwhorter@smcisd.net
Crockett Joan Guerrero LVN 512-393-6406 Joan.guerrero@smcisd.net
DeZavala Jennifer Johnston RN 512-393-6258 Jennifer.johnston@smcisd.net
Goodnight Maribel Batista Davis MA Maribel.batistadavis@smcisd.net
Goodnight Shannon Baker RN 512-393-6556 Shannon.baker@smcisd.net
Hernandez Laura Thompson 512-393-6138 laura.thompson@smcisd.net
Lamar Jessica Hamilton jessica.hamilton@smcisd.net
Mendez Faunia Rodriguez 512-393-6138 faunia.rodriguez@smcisd.net
Miller Jennifer Miller 512-393-6630 jennifer.miller@smcisd.net
Miller Ursula Garcia Boconegra MA ursula.garciabocan@smcisd.net
Rodriguez Sue-Anne Evans RN 512-757-8860 sueannevans@smcisd.net
SMHS Dyanna Eastwood RN 512-393-6262 Dyanna.easwood@smcisd.net
SMHS Kristen Rocha MA Kristen.rocha@smcisd.net
SPED, SMHS Arlene Mendoza LVN Arlene.mendoza@smcisd.net
Travis Eliza Herrera LVN 512-393-6454 Eliza.herrera@smcisd.net
Travis Sue-Anne Evans RN 512-757-8860 Sueann.evans@smcisd.net
Last Modified on Wednesday at 9:21 AM